## WESTMINSTER PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH

Akron, Ohio Minutes of Special Congregational Meeting Sunday, February 11, 2024 - FINAL

Also present: The Reverand Paul Fischer, Moderator; The Reverend William Meyer, Intentional Interim Pastor; Alec Works, Clerk of Session

[Note: Rev. Barry Chance, General Presbyter, Stated Clerk and current Moderator of Session, was unable to be present. Rev. Fischer was appointed to serve as moderator in his place.]

The Special Congregational Meeting of Westminster Presbyterian Church was called to order by Moderator the Reverend Paul Fischer at 11:32 a.m., immediately following the 10:30 a.m. morning worship service. There were three items on the agenda.

The clerk confirmed that a quorum was present. [Note: based on current membership as of January 31, 2024 of 249, a quorum is 10%, or 25 members. Alec counted over 40 members present.] Rev. Fischer opened with prayer.

The first item on the agenda was to address a proposed change to the Bylaws of Westminster Presbyterian Church. At the September 26, 2023 meeting of Session, a motion was approved to reduce the number of active elders from 12 to 9, with 50% of the Session required to be present to establish a quorum. This better reflects the smaller size of the congregation. Current and proposed wording was included as an insert with the bulletin. The floor was opened for discussion. There being none, a motion was made and seconded to vote on the motion as presented. The vote of the congregation was unanimous in approving the following motion:

MOTION C-2024-01 prevailed to reduce the number of elders from 12 to 9, and that a quorum consisting of at least one-half (1/2) of the membership of Session shall be present.

The new wording in the bylaws will be as presented:

Article V – Session

Section 1. The Session shall consist of the pastor as moderator, any associate pastors, and nine (9) ruling elders/trustees. The Session will be divided into three (3) classes based on the year in which their respective terms of office expire, and one youth elder (optional) elected for a one-year term. One-third of elder/trustee terms will expire annually. An elder/trustee is eligible to serve a second consecutive term.

All members of Session, including pastor and associate pastors, are entitled to vote.

Section 7. For purposes of transacting business, a quorum consisting of at least one-half (1/2) of the membership of Session shall be present. Any matter brought before Session for determination shall be decided by a majority vote of the members present.

The second item of business was the election of new officers. The proposed full slate was included as an insert with the morning bulletin. That slate was as follows:

Elders, Class of 2026 (3 year term):

- Dottie Erb, Brian Rodabaugh, Alec Works (all 2<sup>nd</sup> term)
  Elders to fill open positions
- Nancy Keogh (1st term), 2 year term expiring end of 2025
- Stacy Franzmann (1st term), 1 year term expiring end of 2024

Deacons, Class of 2026 (3 year term):

- Jeff Bornstine, Earl Pierson (1st term); Marian Wahl (2nd term) Endowment Committee (3 year term) expiring end of 2026:
- Neal Enrick, Jerry Young (2<sup>nd</sup> term)

Nominating Committee, Class of 2024 (1 year term):

- Raphael Peoples (1st term)
- Andi Jopperi, Marge Rearick, Kristy Yates (2<sup>nd</sup> term)

Alec asked if there were any nominations from the floor. With none, a motion was made and seconded for the clerk to cast a unanimous ballot to elect the individuals named above to serve as elders, deacons, members of the nominating committee, and endowment directors.

MOTION C-2024-02 prevailed to elect the slate of nominees as presented.

The third and final item of business was to formally thank and dismiss members of the current Pastoral Nominating Committee (PNC). Alec noted their hard work and that a new PNC will be elected by the congregation following the report to the congregation by the discernment team. Members elected to the PNC in 2022 were Dave Allison, Stephanie Blaha, Sharon Easterling, Dan Gorring, Andi Jopperi, Bill Melver, and Dave Stobbs. The following motion was made, seconded and approved unanimously by the congregation:

MOTION C-2024-03 prevailed to thank and dismiss the current Pastoral Nominating Committee.

With no other business, a motion was made, seconded and approved to adjourn the meeting. **MOTION C-2024-04 prevailed to adjourn the meeting.** 

_	•	•				•	
Alac Works	Clark of Socci	on	ті	a Ravara	nd Daul Fig	char Madaratar	

The meeting was adjourned by Rev. Fischer with prayer at approximately 11:40 a.m.